The Day on the 49th

Here I am almost mid week into our fourth week in the One Year program at Vancouver Film School and we had our very first night class. Yeah, that was fun.  I am so tired right now, but I can’t quite go to sleep yet. If I fall asleep too early I am dooming myself to waking up at 5:00, don’t want that.  Either way, I am finally starting to settle in with my group, AC49A, we are slowly getting to trust each other.

i realize that there is a lot that we aren’t allowed to tell about our classes and I might be breaking that line.  We had classes today from 9:00-9:00, and I we just finished improv. class at the end of the day’s schedule.  I have come to the conclusion that there are many classes to have at the end of a long day, but having improv when we are all really tired from everything else doesn’t produce the best results. We did an exercise for the first time today and our teacher made the comment, “You guys are acting like a bunch of 8 graders that are really bad.” What I like about our improv. teacher is that when he says something like that you know that it’s true, and when I look back, it is true, we were really really bad. But that doesn’t mean that we didn’t learn from it. One of the mantras in the group is that we learn by failing.  If you can’t take criticism, get out of acting.  You won’t do well if you are always looking for how good you were going to be doing.

Our improv. teacher is one of the nicest guys on the planet, and he was dead right when he made that comment.  That was exactly what our class needed. We took a five minute break, picked ourselves back up and did the exercise again after the break two more times and nailed it the third time.  This goes to the resilience of our group, I’m not saying that my other group didn’t have the same resiliency, but it wasn’t so uniform in the group.  Everybody was able to pick themselves back up and move forward.  That is one of the reasons that I am proud to call myself an AC49A today.  My group is phenomenal…, and I am super pumped to get up tomorrow morning for another improv. class in the morning.  I am so proud, I am. 

In the not school life, I am super glad to be living where I am, and I am thinking of going to a new life group on Thursday at my church, I have been without one for what feels like forever since some things changed in our group, so until I get word that we are going to be continuing with my old one, I am going to be joining this new one.  It is made for artists and people who are in the film industry and want to get into the industry.  I am hoping that there will be some projects that will come out of it, and that I will get some good friends out of the deal.  Because right now that is what I need the most, I need some good Christian friends who I can hang out with from time to time. It will keep me grounded.

For all of the people that pray for me back home I want to thank you, I know that the only favor that I have had, which is a lot is because you guys are praying for me.  Please continue to pray for me.  I need prayer for favour, wisdom, Christian friends, and a learning mind, and the ability to catch on quickly to the concepts being taught.  Thank you again.

To all my fabled readers,

I love you all, and wish you the best. Thanks for reading.

SKinBC out

1 thought on “The Day on the 49th

Leave a comment