As Far As I Can Go About VFS

So the last couple of days have been a little bit hectic around VFS.  This is good for me because I am doing something, not just siting around waiting to do something.  I’m not allowed to say what happens in class to the world, so everything that happens out of class is the only thing that I can tell you about.

We have a fantastic class filled with people that are amazing.  It is kind of funny, I’m not quite used to clicking with people so fast, but after two days, I can’t believe how close I am to these people.  We have eighteen people in our class, of those people we have one person from Vancouver, four people from BC (I think), about nine people from Canada, and the rest are foreign.  From Korea to the United States.  The diversity in our class is absolutely phenomenal.  I don’t have any pictures as of yet for you guys, however, I’m sure that I will soon.  I’m really not a picture guy, however, for my people at home, I will step out of my box.

One thing that I can say is that I am amazed at how many church kids there are in my class.  I thought that I would be alone in that, but there are at least four that I can think of off the top of my head, a couple with the same morals that I have or possibly higher.  This is a great thing, I have the opportunity to get to know them and their beliefs, see how much they differ from mine.  I love it!

VFS is more of a community of artists then anything else.  They are a school where you learn your craft, but you learn by doing, and by doing with others.  I had the opportunity to go to a acting workshop that they alumni were putting on just to keep their acting skills honed.  This was a fantastic opportunity to get to know people who are actually working in the business, some of them had just graduated a couple of weeks ago.  Maybe workshop was the wrong word, but it was a group of actors getting together to hone their skills.  Awesome people!  It is amazing how little people judge in this business, because everybody makes idiots of themselves “almost on a monthly basis in this business” as we are told.

Outside of VFS there isn’t a whole lot happening right now.  I found a group of guys that play basketball in a local mall with a basketball court in it, so I’ve been playing basketball with these guys.  It is funny, because at home, I never really had a whole lot of time to get out into the community, but here, at night, there isn’t much more to do…, so I find this fun.  Just an odd point, it seems like the short guys are the ones that are the best at basketball.

I would write that my time hasn’t been one to write home about, but that would be a little ironic, so…. That’s all I have for now.  Have a Good One!

2 thoughts on “As Far As I Can Go About VFS

  1. Pictures are always good – please …. abandon the no-pics box. Also, curious about why you aren’t allowed to talk about your courses? Love that you found a random group of basketball guys. And how timely that you arrived there just when others with similar values also did – nice supportive network!

Leave a comment